Mission Statement / Priorities

Delaware County has been ranked the Healthiest County in Ohio in 2010, 2011, 2014, 2015 and 2016 based on a study conducted by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and The University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute

The Delaware Health District is a Combined Health District, serving Delaware City, Powell City and the geographical area of Delaware County, except those portions annexed to Westerville, Columbus and Dublin.

Health departments operate under the authority granted by state law. Programs and services are those required by state law, and those authorized by the Board of Health.

The board conducts periodic community and environmental health assessment processes to identify the current health and environmental issues in our growing county. Opinions of community leaders, business, health care representatives and the public are sought during the assessment and priority setting process. The Health Department joins with other community partners to use this information in a Community Health Improvement Plan. Using this same information, the Board of Health establishes priorities for the Health Department which guide resource allocation decisions. Current priority areas include:

The agency is also focusing on achieving National Accreditation, continuous quality improvement efforts and maintaining sound financial management. The Delaware General Health District employs over 70 full and part time professional and support staff who are "dedicated to fostering, protecting and improving the health and the environment of our residents and our community."

Please join us in creating "Healthy People, Healthy Habits in Healthy Communities" as we strive to make Delaware the best community in which to live, work and play.

For more information on the Health Department or to obtain more information on the community's health, contact us or view our strategic plan.